Paris is always a good idea…

9bee4a205de3a671c31051b671a8e7e9

Last year, as many of you already know, I was studying abroad in Portugal and got to celebrate my birthday (October 3rd) being there, so two weeks after my actual birthday, I decided to go to Paris with a brazilian friend who invited me to go with him and other two brazilian girl who I’ve never met before and I’m going to tell you all about… As long as I can remember I alwatys dreamt of going to Paris because I have an aunt who travelled way too much and always brought me things from Paris, she told me everything I know about the beautiful city and was definitely a dream come true to visit it. I’ll tell you about everything that we got to see and some tips if you want to visit Paris very soon! hope you like it!!

Before we even got to Paris we had to take a bus to Porto city because our flight was from Porto to Paris. I remember I was getting extremely sick and was really hard to even be ready to leave for Porto, a friend called me and he had to pick me up because of how bad I was feeling. So needless to say, it was tiring getting to Porto, spending the whole night there, leaving to Paris, and lastly, we had to take a bus from the airport to the city because we travelled to Beauvais which is like 1 hour away from the city.

Day 1

Once we actually got to Paris, the bus left us at a mall near a subway station, and since I was going with two girls that I didn’t know, I was only talking with my friend Memo. He was the one translating for me cause at that time I still couldn’t fully understand portuguese and none of the girls spoke english or spanish. So he just told me that we were going to walk to our hotel (with all our bags) because they don’t want to spend any money on a cab or uber. And so, we started walking and I didn’t know A-N-Y-T-H-I-N-G! so it was a little stressful because I just had to trust whatever the girls decided was the best idea. We walked at least for 1 hour with our bags on our shoulders, but at least we got a pretty good look of the city, and passed right beside Moulin Rouge.

 

paris1

After walking another few minutes, we finally arrived in our hotel and got to change my clothes which were covered in sweat from all that walking and not being able to take out my coat, got a quick bath and a little rest so we could go out and explore the city of my dreams. It was a very cloudy day so we had to go somewhere that wasn’t outdoors, and so, we decided to go to the Louvre.

paris 2.jpg

paris 3

paris 4

Please excuse my face, I had no make up on and was really sick, lol!

 

Day 2

On our second day in Paris we already knew what we wanted to do… see the Eiffel Tower (of course). And so, we left our hotel around 9 a.m. and our first stop was Notre Dame in front on the Seine River and I can honestly say that entering Notre Dame was LIFE CHANGING. Definitely the most beautiful building I have ver seen in my life. I couldn’t even take pictures because I didn’t know what I wanted to capture, so instead, I decided to enjoy the moment and let myself be amazed by all the beauty surrounding me.

IMG_3972

After that, I almost got robbed (but that’s a whole other story which I’ll tell later) we went all the way to the Jardin Du Luxembourg, and let me tell you, in case you don’t know, you can actually see a little peek of the Eiffel Tower from there. However, you do have to walk quite a lot to get there by foot, but you get a good glimpse at the streets of this beautiful city.

IMG_3191

On our way we stopped to take pictures at the Musée de l’Armée, unfortunately it wasn’t open that day, so we couldn’t get in, but still got some pretty cool shots outside of it. Take a look! What do you think??

IMG_3258.jpg

Then we continued our journey to finally meet the Eiffel Tower and speaking for myself, I was excited as I have never been in my whole entire life. I felt like a child again, and kept singing in my head the song from “Devil Wears Prada” when they get to Paris, I don’t know why, lol!

And when we finally got there, we were running like little kids and being happy about every single detail of it…. Only by remembering it I get a little shaky and a little emotional about it. Here are some of my favorite pictures from that day. Definitely one of the best days of my entire life!!

17522973_10155130031117232_485889692301037971_n17553406_10155130028727232_2963093154710825851_n

 

Day 3

As you can imagine, on our third day we were feeling a little tired from all the walking we did the days before, but the excitement was far greater than any pain or discomfort on our legs. So, on that day we decided to go to Chateau de Versailles and again… we were surprised with every single detail, I felt like a princess during the time we were there. Fortunately, we found out that being students gave us free entrance to the Palace, we just had to pay 10 euros for visiting the garden. (Totally worth it!) Keep in mind that Versailles closes at 5 p.m. so by the time you get back to Paris, you still have time to visit another place or just stroll around the city and get to know it a little better so we took advantage of that and went ahead to the Arc de Triomphe.

IMG_3599IMG_3764IMG_3788IMG_3816

Day 4

Our last day in Paris, we had only a few hours before our plane left, so we had to wake up extra early to get to see the Sacré Coeur and buy a few chocolates and macarons!!

We actually got to see a wedding photoshoot outside of the Sacré Coeur and immediately I though “Wedding Goals” don’t you think?

 

IMG_3887IMG_3889

Anyway, that’s basically the main things I did while I was in Paris, if you would like to know more about it, please let me know or if you have any questions, I’ll be more than happy to answer them and let you know a few tips in case you’re visiting Paris any time soon. Thank you!!

 

Yrene Mariela

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

