Get to know me

Hello everybody! I’ve been having this crazy idea that didn’t leave my head about starting a blog just to write all my new experiences and maybe share some tips with people who want to do the same. Anyway, I’m here and I want to share a little bit of myself before I actually begin to start telling about my stories before a background. My name is Yrene Mariela, I’m 23 years old, born and raised in Mexico / California and right now I’m living ABROAD. Since September 7th I left my normal life in Mexico and began this crazy abroad life thanks to an exchange program in my university. 

Never in a million years did I ever imagined this dream of mine would actually come true. I remember being really young and listening to my aunt’s stories about Europe and dreaming of one day living here. Never really thought I had what it takes to leave your hometown and come to an unknown world with unknown people and a totally different culture. 

Many things that happened in my life early this year led me to actually taking the courage of applying to this exchange program, I first started with the idea of going to Canada, cause it’s not too far from Mexico and I’m very used to using USD currency, so it would be a huge difference but I kinda would be still in something somehow “known”. So then the university in Alberta, Canada, told me that they no longer were accepting applicants for the fall semester, so I had to choose something in the USA, even though I always wanted to be in Europe, I thought my parents wouldn’t like the idea of me being so far from home and also, I was a little scared of being that far. Long story short… non of the universities in the USA were accepting applicants anymore, so I had to choose a university from a list they sent me with the schools around the world that were still accepting applicants, and that’s how I chose Portugal

It’s definitely a dream come true of how doors opened up and how crazy things got for me since then. I had the blessing of both of my parents and a scholarship that would grant me the comfort of paying a decent flat and eating whatever I wanted during my stay here. 

I want to tell you about the amazing things I’ve learned here and even before coming here, I’m still in this journey until March of 2017 and want to make the most out of it. I hope you really enjoy it and feel absolutely free to ask questions and even recommend topics if you want me to talk about them later on. 

Let’s begin this journey together and hope we all learn together.

Yrene Mariela

Leave a Reply

